Interview - Portfolio Request

P

Hi all, I am a prospective PhD student that has applied to a number of universities, so far I have received 2 rejections from my 2nd and 3rd choice. I had a panel interview with my ist choice university (red brick) to undertake a PhD in transport intelligence 3 weeks ago. It is a multi-disciplinary funded PhD and I am undertaking it from a computer based background. Each member of the panel is an expert in their fields.

The interview went OK (stuttered a little bit sometimes and was nervous ha ha but answered all their questions) as I prepared a great deal for it and brought along a portfolio of work with me. In addition I also asked them a lot of questions. they also really liked my proposal. However, they said that they wanted to see my portfolio of work (MSc project etc) at a later date, therefore I sent them an electronic copy a few days after. In addition they had to add a second round of applicants as there were simply not enough in the first batch (I'm from the 1st). I wonder if they prioritise based on the 1st batch but apparently I have a feeling they will wait for the second batch of interviews to be finished.

Since its been three weeks I would just like to know my chances??, and how long does it usually take in the process to make a decision?? Anybody have any experiences of time scales and stuff??

I have everything riding on this one and will have to wait another year before I can try again.

Peace and Love X

Not too sure about your chances, although if they added a second round of applicants, it could be they spotted some really good applications. Also, you are probably up against loads of competition - I know in my department all the MScs are asking about PhDs as an opportunity to get out of the job market for a few years, while getting paid.

P